So I was able to get me online visa and I'll fill that out and turn it in on wednesday and then it's back to the waiting game again so hopfully it's not too long because it's starting to get cold..and I am not a fan of that but in Brasil it is starting to become summer sooo..i need to get over there haha Other then that I have had a pretty good week, some days I am so tired I don't want to do anything at all, i wake up at 6:30am and I think "ah man..I don't wnat to get up..ughh.." but other days I wake up rigth away and feel refreshed. The days that I feel more refreshed and awake are the days that I was able to read my scriptures more and be more in tune with the Spirit, it's actually pretty amazing how it works. I know I am going to be tired but honestly the main, if not only way, to change that is your sttitude and your mindset. Days that I wake up and feel more excited and ready to go and motivate my self to get up, do my 30 min of workouts and then get ready for the day, the more awake and focused I feel. It's life and I don't really have an escape out of it, i can't just drive my car to the airport and go back home, this is me for the next little bit so I am trying to make the best of it. It really does help so I encourage everyone to try it. Start your day off the right way, with a better attitude and mindset and you will probably be amazed at how your day flies by and how good it will be.
So we met a family from Panama while tracting (going door to door) and there were two brothers outside playing with a soccer ball throwing it on the roof and catching it haha one is 12, the other 4. My companion and I were walking along the street and saw them and I was all "I should totally play soccer with them (but kind of thinking, nahh..it's cool, I'll just say hi) but my companion said "sure go for it," so I did. As we approached the front of the driveway I shouted to the 2 brothers: "hey, what are ya doing?" They both turned, smiled, and replied "I don't know, the ball is flat so we can't play a whole lot of soccer". They came up to me, we introduced ourselves, and I showed them some soccer moves, juggled around, and they were amazed on how much I could do! It was awesome! Meanwhile, my companion and I saw the mom outside trying to fix her car, so my companion, knowing a little more about cars, went up the driveway to help her out. Me, knowing a little more about soccer, sports in general haha and kids, started talking with the brothers (a third one who is 14 came outside and joined us in our conversation about soccer, school, and the church). After explaining who I am, just the basics of being amissionary, going around and teaching, etc. the 12 year old asked "how do I become one of you?" I said "a Missionary?" he said back, "yeah...how?" I said, "well, you got to be Mormon if you wnat to be a Mormon missionary ya know?" he said "oh..how can I be that?!" He and his older brother were so excited they asked a lot more questions. I gave them each a Book of Mormon (we didn't have Spanish copies on us) and they agreed to see us the next day. It was also cool because they saw my name tag and how it is in Portuguese so I explained my situation and they told me to say stuff in Portuguese, so I did haha We had litte tid bits of conversations and I could pretty much understand what they were saying and they could kind of understand what I was saying so it was cool. Plus I really miss speaking Portuguese so it was nice to do this with them haha
That was probably my highlight of the week, seeing that fmaily and teaching them. We are hopefilly going to see them soon, probably tomorrow. Everytime we talk about stuff they soak it all in. I have taught other people as well like less-active members (people who haven't been to church for a while, a couple of years or so) and we have a baptism this saturday with a guy who got married to a recent convert (new member) and so they already have 3 kids from their previous relationshis but it is amazing to...1. see him quit smoking in a week and 2. see how they are becoming more of a happy family and more together, it's pretty cool.
Well I don't know what else to say except for the South is...interesting haha People talk weird, sometimes when you hit those mega-hicks you can't even understand half of what they are saying. They call shopping carts "buggies" soo yeah..something is strange here. haha But it has been a new experience. They also say "I'll be fixin' to do that for ya'll" or just using the phrase "fixin'", I think they only got the first 100 pages of the dictionary when it was shipped out here soo yeah..i don't know haha no its not all like this, a lot of people just have average southern accents, just some different phrases of words here and there. Some guy i talked to said he was sad because he had already promised his girlfriend he would hang out with her but his friends were mad because he couldn't go deer hunting. Yup..the South. haha
Elder Miller
No comments:
Post a Comment